Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search
Photo Credit: OHCEA Kenya - Home Page Photo

The One Health Workforce (OHW) project is working towards developing a collaborative workforce that is prepared to prevent, detect, control, and respond to the threat of infectious diseases and zoonoses around the world, in part, by employing the strengths of universities in One Health core competencies and skills. It is part of USAID’s Emerging Pandemic Threats (EPT2) program. The focus of EPT2 is cross-sectoral disease surveillance, training, and outbreak response.

The One Health approach aims to:  1) strengthen training, collaboration, partnerships, and educational programs;  2) support governments, civil societies, and communities by developing the skills of a wide range of professionals and empowering them to help control and respond to emerging pandemics.

With funding from USAID, the University of Minnesota and  Tufts University provide technical support for program implementation in collaboration with two regional university networks; One Health Central and Eastern Africa (OHCEA) network and the Southeast Asia One Health University (SEAOHUN) network. The overall goals of this collaboration are to enhance One Health policy formation and implementation and contribute to improved capacity of countries to respond to any emerging pandemics in the region. The Tufts University OHW team specifically supports the networks to assist government ministries train the current and future One Health workforce and engage governments and key partners to define One Health workforce needs. Tufts also supports universities to strengthen faculty capacities for One Health teaching, research, and community outreach.

OHCEA is a network of 21 schools of veterinary medicine and public health in 8 countries. By promoting sustainable development, productive animals and balanced ecosystems, OHCEA seeks to expand the human resources base needed to detect and respond to potential pandemic disease outbreaks, and increase integration of animal, wildlife, and human disease surveillance and outbreak response systems.

SEAOHUN is comprised of 14 faculties and schools of medicine, nursing, public health, and veterinary medicine from 10 Southeast Asia universities in Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, and Vietnam. The Universities included are: Institut Pertanian Bogor, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Universitas Indonesia, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Chiang Mai University, Mahidol University, Hanoi Medical University, Hanoi School of Public Health, and Hanoi University of Agriculture.

This webpage is made possible by the generous support of the American people through the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). The contents are the responsibility of the Tufts University Project Team under the Emerging Pandemic Threats 2 One Health Workforce Project and do not necessarily reflect the views of USAID or the United States Government. USAID reserves a royalty-free nonexclusive and irrevocable right to reproduce, publish, or otherwise use, and to authorize others to use the work for Government purposes.